Chelsea legend Michael Essien to take part in the FIFA Women's World Cup draw tomorrow

Published on: 07 December 2018

Ghana and Chelsea legend Michael Essien will be part of the dignitaries at the FIFA Women's World Cup draw set to be staged at the La Seine Musicale in Paris, France.

Essien who is going there on the invitation of FIFA will interact with other officials on the new trend of the game.

He will join several world football personalities such as Deschamps, Aya Miyama, Steffi Jones, Mia Hamm and Kaka and Kaka who will all participate in the draw. How does the draw work?

Pot 1: France, United States, Germany, England, Canada, Australia

Pot 2: Netherlands, Japan, Sweden, Brazil, Spain, Norway

Pot 3: South Korea, China, Italy, New Zealand, Scotland, Thailand

Pot 4: Argentina, Chile, Nigeria, Cameroon, South Africa, Jamaica

Having been placed into four pots based on the FIFA Women's World Rankings, countries will be drawn into six groups of four teams. Host nation France is automatically placed in position A1 in Pot 1. No group can contain more than one team from each confederation; the one exception is UEFA, which has nine teams and each group must have no more than two UEFA clubs.

Which teams have qualified?

After qualifying matches held between April 2017 and Dec. 1 of this year, 24 teams reached the tournament. The allotment of slots is the same as the previous Women's World Cup. Here are the teams that qualified, listed by confederation:

Asian Football Confederation (5 teams) Australia China Japan South Korea Thailand

Confederation of African Football (3 teams) Cameroon Nigeria South Africa

CONCACAF (3 teams) Canada Jamaica United States

CONMEBOL (3 teams) Argentina Brazil Chile

Oceania Football Confederation (1 team) New Zealand

UEFA (9 teams) England France (hosts) Germany Italy Netherlands Norway Scotland Spain Sweden