Darul Ta'zim claim fifth league title

Published on: 11 July 2018

With four games left to play and with a 13-point lead, a win for Darul Ta'zim would see them clinch the title but Perak gave them a scare when they took the lead in the 74th minute courtesy of Norhakim Hassan.

However three minutes later, midfielder Hariss Harun equalised for the visitors and substitute Safawi Rasid scored the winner seven minutes before the final whistle to cap a dramatic comeback win for Raul Longhi's men and clinch their fifth title in a row.

Darul Ta'zim are on 47 points but the runners-up slot is still up for grabs as Perak lie second with 31, followed by Terengganu and Kedah, both on 30 points while Pahang are fifth with 28.

Darul Ta'zim's title win earns them a place in next year's AFC Champions League Group Stage, a historic milestone as they become Malaysia's first club to take part in the tournament proper since the competition revamp in 2002-2003.

Photo: asiana.my

Source: the-afc.com