Five things you may not know about Malaga CF Women

Published on: 10 July 2018
    On 30 June 1991 Malaga CF Women became the first women's football team to be founded in Andalusia, with the club enjoying 15 seasons in the Liga Iberdrola to date. 

    8 June 2016 is a key date in the club's history, as it was when Malaga CF completed a takeover of Club Atletico Malaga. It was a measure that reinforced the connection and the club's commitment to women's football, with Hamyan Al Thani being appointed president of Malaga Women.

    The team have made history in women's football in Spain. In the 1997/98 season, Malaga Women achieved a feat that no other side had previously managed, by winning the Liga Iberdrola, the Copa de la Reina and the Spanish Super Cup. Incidentally, the club also won the Copa de la Reina in 1997. 
    Malaga Women have a very strong social media presence, boasting over 13,000 followers on the club's official Twitter account. 

    Adriana Martin is one of the key members of the team, having finished as the second top goalscorer across the whole Segunda Division and as the top scorer in Group 4 with 34 goals. Malaga youth product Maria Ruiz has also stood out, having finished as the top goalscorer during the promotion playoffs, firing the club back to the Liga Iberdrola.