UNCONFIRMED: Kwesi Appiah names 26 man squad for 2019 AFCON

Published on: 09 May 2019

Black Stars Head Coach, James Kwesi Appiah has named his 26 man squad to represent Ghana at this year’s Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) and is expected to be presented to the Ghana Football Association (GFA) Normalization Committee (NC) on Friday, May 10, 2019.

The West African side is looking to win a 5th AFCON title after failing to conquer the rest of the world in over 3 decades. Whiles there is pressure on Coach Appiah and his technical team to go to Egypt and deliver, the whole country is waiting patiently for the players that will be presenting the country.

According to a document intercepted by footballghana.com, Coach James Kwesi Appiah has selected 4 goalkeepers, 10 defenders, 8 midfielders as well as 5 strikers which he will be officially presenting to the NC tomorrow before it is released to the public.


Below is the list of Kwesi Appiah’s squad yet to be confirmed:


1.Richard Ofori, 2.Fatau Dauda, 3.Felix Annan, 4.Lawrence Attizigi


5.Lumor Agbenyanu, 6.Baba Rahman, 7.Jhon Boye, 8.Jonathan Mensah, 9.Andy Yiadom, 10.Kadiri Mohammed, 11.Kasim Nuhu, 12.Nicholas Opoku, 13.Joseph Aidoo


14.Mubarak Wakasu, 15.Thomas Partey, 16.Thomas Agyapong, 17.Dede Ayew, 18.Christian Artsu, 19.Alfrd Duncan, 20.Kwadwo Asamoah, 21.Afriyie Acquah


  1. Asamoah Gyan 23.Jordan Ayew, 24. Caleb Ekuban, 25. Majeed Waris 26. Emmanuel Boateng

Ghana has been draw in the same group with defending champions Cameroon, as well as Benin and Guinea Bissau.