2020/21 Ghana Premier League returns on October with a new format

Published on: 21 July 2020

The Executive Council of the Ghana Football Association (GFA) have scheduled October 31 for the start of the  2020/21 Ghana Premier League (GPL) season.

The season will come with a different format.

The 2019/20 season was truncated due to the outbreak of the novel coronavirus.

Domestic football came to a standstill in mid-March.

However, the Ghana FA confirmed the truncation of the season following a meeting held on June 30 with no demotion and promotion.

Footballghana.com understand that the 18 teams will be divided into two Zones, i.e., Northern Zone and Southern Zone.

Northern teams 

  • Asante Kotoko
  • Ashanti Gold
  • Aduana Stars
  • Berekum Chelsea
  • Bechem United
  • King Faisal
  • Medeama SC
  • Eleven Wonders
  • Legon Cities FC


Southern teams

  • Dreams FC
  • Karela United
  • Hearts of Oak
  • Accra Great Olympic
  • Elmina Sharks
  • Inter Allies
  • Ebusua Dwarfs
  • Liberty Professionals

This new calendar will help synchronise the Ghana Premier League with the European calendar.

Meanwhile, the transfer window opens on 31 August and ends on the 31 October.

Asante Kotoko and Ashgold have been given the nod to represent Ghana in the Caf inter-club competition next season.