2021 AFCON: Malawi defeat Comoros in a friendly, unveil final squad

Published on: 02 January 2022

Malawi Flames defeated 2-1 Comoros in a COSAFA friendly derby, as both sides prepare for their participation in the upcoming TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations, Cameroon 2021.

First half goals from Gabadinho Mhango and Khuda Muyaba gave The Flames a 2-1 win over the The Coelacanths, with Fayez Mattior scoring for the islanders at the Abdallah Al-Faisal Stadium in Saudi Arabia. The friendly match was the first for Malawi after coach Meke Mwase announced his final squad heading for Cameroon.

South African based Mhango was the game’s hero, not only opening the scoring but also provided an assist to Muyaba for Malawi’s second goal. Comoros’ goal came from the spot after Mattior was fouled in the box and made it count for Coach Amir Abdou’s side.

Malawi’s Zebron Kalima and Lawrence Chaziya made their debuts in the friendly, as Schumacher Kuwali has been ruled out of the AFCON after he sustained a thigh injury during the team’s training camp. The Flames will also face Mali in their last friendly before the tournament begins.

Malawi will open their campaign against Gabon before facing COSAFA fellows Zimbabwe and will end their group stage campaign against Senegal.

Meanwhile, Comoros will begin their AFCON campaign against Gabon on 10 January before facing Morocco on 14 January. They will end their group stage against the Black Stars of Ghana on 18 January.

Malawi final squad

Goalkeepers: Ernest Kakhobwe (Nyasa Big Bullets), William Thole (BF Wanderers), Charles Thom (Silver Strikers)

Defenders: Limbikani Mzava (Amazulu, South Africa), Dennis Chembezi (Polokwane City, South Africa), Mark Fodya (Silver Strikers), Gomezgani Chirwa (Nyasa Big Bullets), Lawrence Chaziya (Civo Sporting), Stanley Sanudi (BF Wanderers), Peter Cholopi (BF Wanderers)

Midfielders: John Banda (UD Songo, Mozambique), Charles Petro (Sheriff Tiraspol, Moldova), Chimwemwe Idana (Nyasa Big Bullets), Chikoti Chirwa (Red Lions), Micium Mhone (Blue Eagles), Robin Ngalande (St George, Ethiopia), Yamikani Chester (BF Wanderers), Fransisco Madinga (FC Dilla Gori, Georgia), Peter Banda (Simba SC, Tanzania), Zebron Kalima (Silver Strikers)

Strikers: Richard Mbulu (Baroka FC, South Africa), Khuda Muyaba (Polokwane City, South Africa), Gabadinho Mhango (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Reserves: Brighton Munthali, Paul Ndlovu, Stain Davie, Norchard Chimbalanga, Gerald Phiri Junior

Source: cafonline.com