Referees Association of Ghana suspends 74 referees over Anas’ #12 exposé

Published on: 06 August 2018

The Referees Association of Ghana (RAG) has suspended 74 referees following an expose by ace investigative journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas on corruption in Ghana football.

Joe Debrah, the Assistant Chairman of the Association, told Joy News the provisional list of referees perceived to be corrupt in the Number 12 expose has been circulated to all the relevant stakeholders.

“They are to step aside akin to being on interdiction in the public sector but we call that provisionally suspended.

“We are going to investigate to establish whether they are really culpable or not pending the final determination of their case by the Disciplinary Committee of RAG,” he said.

The documentary, officially titled, ‘When Greed and Corruption Become the Norm’ is popularly as ‘Number 12’ takes a sweeping look at cases of match-fixing and its effects on honest and hardworking footballers, compromised match officials.

The investigative piece which shook the nation revealed how some officials in at the GFA allegedly took bribes to influence matches.

Following the expose, the FA Chairman, Kwesi Nyantakyi who was seen in the documentary resigned and is currently under investigation.

This was after a charge of defrauding by false pretence was levelled against him.

A breakdown of the category of referees suspended includes; 6 FIFA referees, 7 assistant FIFA referees, 21 premier referees, 21 premier assistant referees, 4 division one referees, 6 division one assistant referees, 4 in the women league and 5 retired referees.

Below are the names of those listed by RAG

FIFA REFEREES 1. Prosper Adii 2. Issaka Afful 3. Reginald Lathbridge 4. Nathan Anafo 5. Cecil Amatey Fleischer 6. Adaari Latif

ASSISTANT FIFA REFEREES 7. Dawood Ouedraogo 8. Ibrahim Adam Badiu 9. Eric Nantiere 10. A. S. Malik 11. David Adjin 12. David Laryea 13. Theresa Akogyam

PREMIER REFEREES 14. Yaw Ametepey 15. Dally Gagba 16. William Agbovi 17. Sylvester Adzoku 18. S. B. Bortey 19. Nuhu Liman 20. Mclord Arhin 21. Emmanuel Ansah 22. Amofa Sarkodiee 23. Justice Adu Poku 24. Timothy Obuobisa 25. Wiseman Ghansah 26. Prince Amoah 27. Samuel Sukah 28. Samuel Kyeremeh 29. Otis Oppong 30. Awal Mohammed 31. Daniel Dogbetor 32. Uriah Glah 33. Eku Boateng 34. Solomon Mordey

PREMIER ASSISTANT REFEREES 35. Alhassan yahaya 36. Haruna Bawa 37. Safo Adade 38. Samuel Borquaye 39. Samuel Opoku Boateng 40. Alhassan Badiu 41. Ben Wormawor 42. Emurana Salifu 43. Joseph Ayambila 44. Salifu Rahman 45. Samuel Asiedu 46. Joseph Sey 47. Ashitey Armah 48. Jason Nunoo 49. Philip Darko 50. Ashong Ibrahim 51. Augustine Akugri 52. Ben Samari 53. Kennedy Bentil 54. Freeman Awulo 55. Nii Kotey Kotei

DIVISION ONE REFEREES 56. Heyford Adehe 57. Dickson Wellington 58. Abraham Poku 59. Prince Coffie

DIVISION ONE ASSISTANT REFEREES 60. Saviour Amevor 61. Atsu Dogbey 62. Charles Abloh 63. Daniel Diawu 64. Joseph Laryea 65. E. B. Quaye

WOMEN LEAGUE 66. Fulera Iddrisu Bamie 67. Eugenia Asigri 68. Richlove Awuah 69. Esther Awo Detse

RETIRED REFEREES 70. Leanier Addy 71. S. A. Quaye 72. Wellington Joseph 73. Umar Teni 74. Charles Dowuona